Been slacking more than a decade - need advice (subjects, habits) (1 Viewer)

Momine

HSC
Hey, sorry if this is the wrong subforum for starters.

I'm at Year 11 right now, moving on to yr 12 in 2 weeks, and I've been slacking for a very long time.
Some backstory that I won't mention since it's not that important, but it has made some very bad habits.
I'd like to do my best, work my best, and get the best ATAR I can.

It would be nice if anyone that has not studied even a little bit in year 11 that made significant progress in year 12 would provide some advice.

Some information:

I'm an international student that started the course at year 11.
And I've done near nothing to study for my subjects. I'm very concerned of HSC.

My subects and raw scores of everything so far are (scores are before prelim final exams)

ESL > 44
Math > 98
Math ex1 > 85
Business Studies > barely over 60
Chemistry > 71
Design / technology > barely over 60
SDD > 86

My estimated ATAR with these scores are 78. Obviously it will lower after the big test, as I am not prepared at all.

To get into my preferred uni course (computer science), I need an atar of 90 and above.

These are the courses I plan to take in year 12:

Math ex1
Math ex2
Business studies
SDD
ESL
(Chemistry?) - backup

I do not, however, enjoy chemistry at all and my scores are horrendous. I've only received a passing score because the questions were all from the KiSS resources and the teacher was generous with the markings. If 10 units are fine for HSC, I will gladly drop chemistry.

Sorry if this thread is all over the place. I'm just very concerned with my HSC year as I have been slacking for over a decade and have very unproductive habits.

If you've slacked your whole year 11 with bad scores but did significantly better in Year 12, please lend some advice.

Thanks.

pikachu975

Premium Member
HSC