Level of English for BCom/ General questions (1 Viewer)

rikahS

HSC
Hi,

I'm currently a Year 12 student getting around 75-85 in Advanced English within a rank 100 school. I was wondering whether my relatively low English ability would greatly limit my performance in a BCom degree(UNSW)? Also, if there is anyone here who has typically been science orientated throughout high-school and then chose a more business-sy type degree in uni, how has that turned out for you and if you had the chance to go back, would you choose a science degree?

Thanks!

BLIT2014

The pessimistic optimist.
HSC
Uni Grad
Hi,

I'm currently a Year 12 student getting around 75-85 in Advanced English within a rank 100 school. I was wondering whether my relatively low English ability would greatly limit my performance in a BCom degree(UNSW)? Also, if there is anyone here who has typically been science orientated throughout high-school and then chose a more business-sy type degree in uni, how has that turned out for you and if you had the chance to go back, would you choose a science degree?

Thanks!
If your school marks HSC standard then you should be fine.

davidgoes4wce

HSC
N/A
Having good English skills in Year 11 and 12 helps in university level essays.

The styles of writing in Year 11/12 English and university essays is different though. I find with university essays there is more referencing and sourcing for books to support your ideas in an essay.I do find the structuring in English Advanced and Standard a bit unusual though. I read Cambridge checkpoints for HSC English and I never really understood why you have short paragraphs and long paragraphs mixed in an essay. Im more used to the standard (intro , 3 paragraphs and conclusion) format . (also tested in IELTS academic style writing)

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad