Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Post Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    Hey guys so I am confused over where would be the best location to do ocmputer science. I know most poeple say UNSW and my only issure with that is that there is about a 1.5 hour one way travel time and so would take up ALOT of my day. For UTS i am not fully sure as to which is actually computer science although i am looking at data analytics and AI. for Usyd i dont know much about their computer science program but thats most likely where ill go so yea. PLEASE ADVISE!!
    Last edited by cchhiillyy; 28 Oct 2017 at 7:51 PM.

  2. #2
    Exalted Member BlueGas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    HSC
    N/A
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    2,402
    Rep Power
    4

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    UNSW should be your last priority, USYD would be better for you.

  3. #3
    Senior Member sida1049's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    HSC
    2015
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    730
    Rep Power
    4

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    If commuting is an issue for you, then just go for the most convenient uni. Computer science at UNSW and USYD are just as good. I don't know much about UTS, though.

    Bachelor of Science (Advanced Mathematics) III, USYD

  4. #4
    Junior Member the_matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    HSC
    2016
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    38th Parallel North
    Posts
    177
    Rep Power
    3

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    I know this question was asked more than 6 months ago but since this is such a popular question on this and other forums as well as career markets and open days and whatnot, I would like to share my insight on UTS Bachelor of Computing Science for any aspiring CS students!

    From what I know and what my friends say:
    - it is a 4 year degree with automatic honours (but you can elect to not do honours and graduate in 3 years instead)
    - it is basically the BScIT degree mashed up with maths
    - if you want to be a programming specialist (i.e. applications developer, DevOps, software engineer, etc.) like your fellow UNSW/USYD computer science graduates, choose the Enterprise Systems Development major (i.e. the programming major)
    - I was previously a UNSW software engineering student (very similar to UNSW CS degree, in fact the first year subjects are the same for both SEng and CS) and I can say UTS Computing Science is your typical CS degree just like UNSW's one, the main difference is that at UTS you learn Java as your introductory language whilst at UNSW you learn C first - but this should not concern you as the programming language you use is just a tool, what matters is way you think and how you solve problems (this is what both universities teach you)
    - Few friends at USYD (1 studies Bachelor of Computer Science and Technology, the other studies Software Engineering) say they learn Java first then C in second year, although they say the first year language has now changed to Python instead. Both friends went to USYD for convenience.

    In the end, computer science at all 3 universities are very similar. I can't say too much about USYD but at UTS the first sem programming subjects are a bit easier as UTS likes to ease you into things (second sem is where programming starts to get hard), whereas at UNSW my first programming subject was fast pace and intense and had less guidance than UTS (quite a lot of people failed or dropped out of the course due to its difficulty and many had never experienced programming before). Whichever one you pick, just make you sure you maintain good marks and do internships as they are so much more important than what uni you go to (unless you want to work for Microsoft in which case they only hire UNSW students apparently), and you will likely secure a decent grad job!

    If you end up going to UTS, check out my review of 48023 Programming Fundamentals on UTS Subject Reviews which contains a link which better explains Java concepts. Unfortunately the lecturer for this subject is quite lazy and doesn't explain Java concepts too well, but I can also say the same for UNSW's first sem C programming lecturer However, the lecturer for UTS second sem Java Course is a high quality beast who explains things ridiculously well and has pretty much perfected that course in terms of content and quality (Ryan Heise if you get to have him as your lecturer).
    Last edited by the_matrix; 26 Jul 2018 at 2:15 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member sida1049's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    HSC
    2015
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    730
    Rep Power
    4

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    the_matrix provided a pretty informative summary of studying computer science at UTS, UNSW and USYD, I think.

    Regarding the programming languages at USYD, during first year you start off with Python, then Java. During second year, you move on to studying C, and a functional programming language like Haskell. For a lot of courses beyond this point, you get to pick your own preferred language for the programming assignments.

    I get the feeling that some aspiring computer science students may factor the programming languages taught into their decision in picking a uni. I discourage this, since often the programming language varies from course to course, and sometimes from year to year. There is a lot of freedom by the time you get to the senior units anyway.

    Bachelor of Science (Advanced Mathematics) III, USYD

  6. #6
    Webmaster brent012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    HSC
    2011
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    4,691
    Rep Power
    20

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by the_matrix View Post
    (unless you want to work for Microsoft in which case they only hire UNSW students apparently)
    Doubt this is true, I know someone at Microsoft who graduated from UTS about 3 years ago.

    I believe Microsoft don't do development in Australia anymore however
    ~

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    HSC
    2018
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    1

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    What about data engineering at UTS? i think thats the most similar to computer science in a way. Some majors such as Cyber security are in data engineering at UTS and not in the computing science one.

  8. #8
    Junior Member 30june2016's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    HSC
    2017
    Uni Grad
    2021
    Gender
    Female
    Location
    オーストラリア
    Posts
    154
    Rep Power
    2

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by brent012 View Post
    Doubt this is true, I know someone at Microsoft who graduated from UTS about 3 years ago.

    I believe Microsoft don't do development in Australia anymore however
    Yeah, I know someone who graduated a year ago from UTS and now works at Microsoft!! Also yeah, I asked one of their recruiters and they said Microsoft only hires for business/marketing/sales/tech support roles in Australia now )):



    UTS BIT 2018




  9. #9
    Webmaster brent012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    HSC
    2011
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    4,691
    Rep Power
    20

    Re: Computer science at UTS UNSW or USYD...your experiences/opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by blah21 View Post
    What about data engineering at UTS? i think thats the most similar to computer science in a way. Some majors such as Cyber security are in data engineering at UTS and not in the computing science one.
    Think of Data Engineering as a cousin to Software Engineering. Most of the data engineering majors and a different software major used to be under "ICT Engineering" which was discontinued in favour of Data Engineering + Software Engineering a few years ago.

    Computer Science and Software Engineering do have quite a bit of cross over however, but the most similar to computer science and UTS will of course be computing science.

    Quote Originally Posted by 30june2016 View Post
    Yeah, I know someone who graduated a year ago from UTS and now works at Microsoft!! Also yeah, I asked one of their recruiters and they said Microsoft only hires for business/marketing/sales/tech support roles in Australia now )):
    That puts an end to that rumour then :P
    ~

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •