need help with my FIRST resume!!! (1 Viewer)

waterlml

HSC
HI, i'm planning to look for a part time job after uni starts, trying to prepare my resume but i have no work experience/volunteer work etc, what should i put in under experience?should i just leave it or change it to something else?? i do have some achievements and did sport during high school, should i just change it to these things?? thx

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
make it up

I did and I got some call backs :D
Not this. You never know the longer term ramifications either.

Anyway, given you're applying for your first job out of school, you can still summarise whatever you did achieve in school which might reflect well on why someone would want to take a chance and offer you a job. Keep in mind you might need to tailor it to individual jobs/circumstances such as your working flexibility as well as your own personality traits (e.g. are you willing to learn, hard working, good at team work, etc).

Have a look at your school report as well to see what positive characteristics your teachers have identified and see if they could be useful in the workplace (or at least help you land a job).

dirty_ink

HSC
In addition to what seremify posted, keep the layout clean and simple, and you definitely don't need to exceed one page. Have headings such as 'Personal Attributes', 'Academic Achievements' and 'Availability'. Try to emphasise particular characteristics that would be valuable for the job you are applying - maybe dot list them and then elaborate on each with a sentence.

If you're still a bit mystified as to what you should write, looking up the top qualities employers seek in potential employees may help.

Papercutter

HSC
Ditto dirty_ink.
Don't overflow your layout, make sure there's enough white space between the lines/sections. Always, always, always do a spelling & grammar check before you publish your resume. Keep fonts simple and don't use more than 2 or 3 different fonts.