Tips on tutoring people! (1 Viewer)

chubzy

HSC
hey guys so i'm new to this tutoring business so i was wondering if you could give me some tips? :) i'm thinking of meeting up with them and getting to know them a bit before i start?! like a trial lesson? and then asking some questions about how they are in school and what they like/don't like....i was referred by a friend so the mum has huge expectations for me and i really don't want to let her down!

thanks heaps :)

chubzy

HSC
maths and english! and i'm tutoring his little brother english as well :)

RivalryofTroll

Sleep Deprived Entity
HSC
Uni Grad
1. Notes - usually very important and can come in various different forms: answering syllabus dot points, formulas, summaries of topics and A-grade/Band 6 quality responses for typical exam questions. Allows students to revise more effectively before exam/assessment time.
2. Past Papers - papers from various schools (especially selective schools) as these papers will better prepare students for similar exams at their own school.
3. Resources/Text Books - Having various text books and information sources.
4. Explaining concepts - To become a high-quality tutor, this is a must have and is the most important point about tutors.

LightXT

HSC
Uni Grad
Maths-Try going through the syllabus and explaining concepts from there. Once you think they have a decent grasp of the concepts, assign them questions from a textbook. I don't think past papers are really necessary.
English-No f**cking idea. Make them write essays?

RivalryofTroll

Sleep Deprived Entity
HSC
Uni Grad
Also, if you make smexy homework booklets then they might have a good impression of you!

renell

HSC
With junior year tutoring, really it's sort of like you're filling in for their parents for that hour i.e. the homework helper. Unless the parents agree/insist, I have never assigned homework, they get enough from their teachers.