When would you start tutoring? (1 Viewer)

Erinaceous

HSC
Hi :) I'm a Yr 10 student who's just wondering when the average person starts tutoring (if should they choose to be tutored) for the HSC. I have friends who have already started tutoring, but I kinda don't see the point in doing so, since the vast majority of students (or at least of those that I know) fool around in their junior years and tutoring seems to imply effort needed from both tutor and student.

I have previous experience in tutoring. For the selective school test, I started going to Coaching college around 6-9 months before the test however I found the tutoring college to be unhelpful. This was more because of my age rather than tutoring may not be the best study method for me. (I was at the stage of my life where everything would go in through one ear then out the other ear) And since the HSC is evidently a bigger test and obviously more difficult, I doubt my meager (and somewhat useless) experience in tutoring would answer my question. Hence, I was wondering for those who have been tutored or are being tutored in preparation for the HSC, when do you guys start? And which subjects do you choose to start with? Do you start off with one on one or group tutoring?

Thank you so much :)

iJimmy

not dead
HSC
N/A
First tutored from yr 4 for oc
Then yrs 5 & 6 for selective
Then all high school
Fml
Asian fam

iJimmy

not dead
HSC
N/A
The earlier you start the better, also if you do class tutoring ensure you don't start mid term or later than everyone else. Also don't waste money on tutoring if you do not put in the effort, keep a healthy balance between tutoring and school,remember tutoring is an aid not a second school, you can ask whatever you want as many times as you want. You are paying for tutoring so it only right for you to do your best to make the most of it

strawberrye

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad