1st in James Ruse English and Modern History Tutoring (1 Viewer)

nineteenninetynine

HSC
State Rank English and Modern History Tutoring

Hi!

I graduated from James Ruse Agricultural High School in 2017, and am offering private tutoring for English and Modern History.

I received an ATAR of 99.90 and received the state ranks of 11th in NSW for Modern History and 20th in NSW for English Advanced.
I also received the J.A. Reid Medal for Modern History, the Ross Medal for Advanced English and the Head Teacher's Award for Modern History.

Throughout year 12, I ran study groups for my grade in both these subjects and have given feedback for other students' essays.
My tutorials are focused upon helping you understand the text or topic and refining your essays. I am also happy to mark your essays free of charge in my own time.

The texts I studied for English:
The Tempest
Letters to Alice + Pride and Prejudice
Citizen Kane
Judith Wright Poetry

My topics for Modern History:
Germany 1919-1939
Albert Speer
Conflict in the Pacific

I am also happy to offer a free trial lesson to help you determine whether you would like to commit to tutoring.

Feel free to contact me for more details if interested at williamchua1@hotmail.com

Thanks,
William Chua

Last edited:

greg1957

HSC
There are two types of students who achieve top English marks:
(i) Edgy teens who, fuelled by coffee, frantically type out Nobel Prize-worthy literature at 3am on a stroke of genius; and
(ii) Organised students who appreciate the nuances within HSC English and work consistently throughout the school year.

I've known William all throughout high school, and admittedly, he's edgy-genius as much as he is organised-hardworking.
I, on the other hand, was a student who neither had that writing flair, nor had a plan to address my lack of talent.