Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By greg1957
  • 2 Post By Drongoski

Thread: 1st in James Ruse English and Modern History Tutoring

HSC

1st in James Ruse English and Modern History Tutoring

Hi I just graduated from James Ruse Agricultural High School, and am offering private tutoring for English and Modern History.

My ranks were:
    English Advanced: 1st overall, 2nd in trial
    Modern History: 1st overall, 1st in trial

Throughout year 12, I ran study groups for my grade in both these subjects and have given feedback for other students' essays.
    My tutorials are focussed upon helping you understand the text/topic and refining your essays. I am also happy to mark your essays free of charge in my own time. I will provide extensive feedback and suggestions, with a minimum of 500 words feedback for first drafts.

I am willing to tutor from my home in Carlingford, or from local libraries e.g. Carlingford, Epping, Castle Hill, Parramatta.

The texts I studied for English:
    The Tempest
    Letters to Alice + Pride and Prejudice
    Citizen Kane
    Judith Wright Poetry

My topics for Modern History:
    Germany 1919-1939
    Albert Speer
    Conflict in the Pacific

Charge: $40 for one hour lesson at home + free essay marking.
    $50 for one hour lesson at library + free essay marking.
    $30 per essay for online essay marking.

Feel free to contact me for more details if interested at williamchua1@hotmail.com

Thanks,
    William Chua

HSC

Re: 1st in James Ruse English and Modern History Tutoring

There are two types of students who achieve top English marks:
    (i) Edgy teens who, fuelled by coffee, frantically type out Nobel Prize-worthy literature at 3am on a stroke of genius; and
    (ii) Organised students who appreciate the nuances within HSC English and work consistently throughout the school year.

I've known William all throughout high school, and admittedly, he's edgy-genius as much as he is organised-hardworking.