French Continuers Open High School (1 Viewer)

sweetalmond

HSC
N/A
It is likely I will be doing French Continuers next year through open high school (I have sent the application form).
What is it like:
studying a language distance education?
How is the work received?
What are the OHS tests like? Is there a large margin for failure if you don't do well? Do the tests test you appropriately on work covered?
What are phone conversations like?
And any other ideas or comments about the course and how you found it studying it this way.

Kittikhun

HSC
Hello.

I studied French Continuers through the OHS from 2009 to 2010.

1). I never studied a language at school before, so I can't really tell you the differences between doing distance education and studying at school. I'll tell you how dist. ed. works anyway.

What happens is that you get sent a workbook and a couple of extra exercises that your teacher wishes for you to do. S/he writes on a purple coversheet what your objectives exactly are for that week or fortnight. I think the workbook you'll be using is 'Noir Sur Blanc'. Once you finish your exercises, you give them to the teacher at school who is in charge of all this OHS business who then sends the work to OHS. This teacher should also give you the new set of work and also the corrections from your previous set of work sent by your French teacher.

Phone lessons are a weekly thing. I know of some students in my class who only got one fortnightly though. They don't usually last long, 10-20 mins a week max. However, I sometimes got mine to go on for 40-60 mins because speaking was my weak point, and my teacher wanted me to improve a lot on that. Some teachers also phone you from their home to give you some extra practice, so it's a roll of dice if you're going to get a dedicated enough teacher like this.

2). Look above.