B Education (Secondary: Mathematics)/B Science (1 Viewer)

Bigandy88

HSC
Is anyone doing this course this year. Interested to know what subjects you've chosen for this

AlvinCY

HSC
LoL.

I'm in Second year, does that count? Anyway, I'm a mentor for the first years for this degree, so if you have any questions with course structures, feel free to PM me.

Lego

P

psychokitten

can u do this course if you have just done 2U maths and not extension?

jayadore

She was a hurricane.
HSC
Highly unlikely. The arts/science side of the degree is merely here to help you with your teaching degree, so you're learning everything you'll teach. If you look at the structure of the B Edu/B arts/science degree, there should be a list of science degrees you can take.

However in first year, you have "extra" arts/science credit points so you can take psychology but you can't major in it or anything. Sorry if this is a bit confusing.

Nebuchanezzar

Banned
HSC
jayadore said:
Highly unlikely. The arts/science side of the degree is merely here to help you with your teaching degree, so you're learning everything you'll teach. If you look at the structure of the B Edu/B arts/science degree, there should be a list of science degrees you can take.
*reinforcing what you teach. im certainly not gonna be teaching kids about pericyclic reactions.

boredusb

HSC
you can do double maths or maths + science , so if you want to be only a maths teacher you and if you want to be a maths and science you can do that too

knockii

Head spinning too much, can't find my bearings =(
HSC
It basically means that you'd be doing maths as a single teaching subject, rather than coupled with another.

So in response to your original question, yes, you choose this course to become a qualified maths teacher, and no, it is not necessary to know the science bit.

Going out to get absolutely shattered, so I don't have time to explain fully. Though you can have a look here, make sure you look at the handbook as well.