What To Do?? (1 Viewer)

M-unit

HSC
hey, im doin my hsc this year and probably going into UNI in 2009.

im intersted in humanities and im currently studying ancient history and english and enjoy both.

so basically, what kind of courses would i be looking at doing at uni, and what kind fo job prospects would i be looking at??

cheers

ahen

Sexy Member
HSC
i shall join you there, i too am considering prospects related to humanities and yeah i like those subjects too. so lets just sit around and wait for someone with useful info to reply now shall we.
:)

kami

An iron homily
HSC
N/A
If you're interested in humanities then your interests will probably come from a humanities course - just check out the handbooks of each faculty from each uni.

As for jobs, well there aren't many specific job opportunities for arts grads - it all depends on your major but basically think the creative arts, communication industries, education, academia, public service, translation, arts management, curatorship or psychology. Though both psych and education have additional requirements.

M-unit

HSC
but do i necessarily have to do an arts degree??

ahen

Sexy Member
HSC
well you could become a history/english teacher, but then, you'd have to like teaching so if you do then that's something you could consider.
or you could become a journo/critic
or if you like the media side of things from english then you could look into advertising and other communications things
and thats all i can think of off the top of my head that kami hasn't already said

Triangulum

Dignitatis Contentio
HSC
M-unit said:
If you want to focus on humanities then an Arts degree or one of the various offshoots of an Arts degree is probably your best bet.

kami

An iron homily
HSC
N/A
M-unit said: