Like Tree9Likes
  • 2 Post By BLIT2014
  • 1 Post By Zoinked
  • 1 Post By si2136
  • 2 Post By sida1049
  • 1 Post By sida1049
  • 1 Post By si2136
  • 1 Post By sida1049

Thread: Do i need to do highschool economics to do well in economics in university?

HSC

Question Do i need to do highschool economics to do well in economics in university?

Basically i just want some personal experience from someone with good knowledge of economics in university. I'm quite interested in it especially the mathematical side and i regret not doing it for my senior years.

Just wanted to know, how troubling will i find it if i have no knowledge of high school economics?

The pessimistic optimist. BLIT2014's Avatar
    HSC
    Uni Grad

Re: Do i need to do highschool economics to do well in economics in university?

Honestly mathematics is a lot more important for studying economics in then high school economics
    RenegadeMx and stopcrying like this.
    l’appel du vide

Got 1-2 minutes ? Please do my survey :P https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/8ZPYZSD
    Moderator of Macquarie University

HSC

My friend does economics at uni after having only done general maths and no economics and he's doing great and loving it. I suggest you do learn the basic concepts of economics on khan academy to gauge if economics is what you want to study. https://www.khanacademy.org/economics-finance-domain. I haven't done the whole khan academy economics course but i'm sure it will catch you up to a great level to study econ at uni.
    stopcrying likes this.

2016 ATAR: >90
    2017-2020: Bachelor of Applied Finance/Bachelor of Commerce (Professional Accounting) @ Mq Uni

Executive Member
    HSC
    N/A

Make sure you like Economics first. Read some lecture slides on Econometrics then.
    stopcrying likes this.

HSC

While HSC economics would help, it is far from being essential.