CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (got some questions) (1 Viewer)

ragingcurry

HSC
Is there a lot of job opportunities in chemical engineering (specifically in SYDNEY)?
Does it have a lot of chemistry or does it lean towards engineering more? If so should I do industrial chemistry cause I'm a big fan of chemistry as opposed engineering (I still like engineering though, don't hate it)?
What is really like when you are employed (a day in the life of a chemical engineer)?
Can I work for research institutions if I'm a mechanical engineer?

strawberrye

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad
It doesn't have much chemistry in it-it has a lot more physics. I don't think there is much job opportunities for chemical engineer in Sydney-you might have better luck if you go overseas such as USA. You should probably do science and engineering degree, majoring in industrial chemistry in science and chemical engineering. I think you will need to ask a chemical engineer what it is like in a day of their typical job-and it is unlikely they will still roam around these forums-so your best shot is search for youtube videos. I am pretty sure if you are good enough, you can work for research institutions regardless of what type of engineer you are-provided you meet their criteria.

anomalousdecay

Premium Member
HSC
Chemical engineering does involve a fair bit of chemistry. However, the main role of chemical engineering is to maintain systems that deal with chemical processes. If you want to get into more research/laboratory roles, then consider industrial chemistry or just chemistry where you can be set up to work on developing different chemicals on a small scale and conducting tests on them. Chemical engineering has a stronger focus on large scale production and processes compared to industrial chemistry.

joshman94

HSC