"Uni Grades are completely irrelevant to employers" (1 Viewer)

blue_chameleon

Shake the sauce bottle yo
HSC
Depends.

The truth lies somewhere in between that, and the notion that grades mean everything.

Too many examples of graduates with [relatively] poor grades in comparison to their cohort being successful in positions that many would think unachievable for such poor grades. However, there's a certain logic in assuming that employers would choose graduates with the best grades.

In practice, I would say employers beliefs would fall along a spectrum of the two extremes; that is being completely irrelevant and being crucial/first consideration.

moc2009

HSC
N/A
I think it depends, but mostly I would say no.

I have been working in Banking and Finance for 5 years (only now actually going to go to Uni and get a degree).

Whenever we interviewed people we never once looked at their grades, depending on the position they were going for we looked if they had completed the required level of education, HSC or Degree, we never looked at UAI or University Grades.

If we had two candidates apply and they had the same degree/experience, we still would not look at grades we would decide based on how they performed at the interview.

In a lot of cases people with no degree got the job over people who had a degree, based on work experience. Work experience was preferred over a bit of paper in a few cases.

So in my opinion and experience, I would say NO, grades don’t usually count. I’m sure in some industries they would, but on the whole I would say no.

Last edited:

jellybelly08

HSC
False. I applied for numerous interships in the financial sector last year and most (if not all) explicitly stated that you NEED a Credit average to progress to the next stage.

After the first stage though my grades were not even mentioned.

So grades might not be the MOST important things for employers, but they aren't irrelavent.

moc2009

HSC
N/A
jellybelly08 said: