not eligible for HECS-HELP? (1 Viewer)

Spiderspins

HSC
It came on me as a bit of a shock whilst reading the booklet for students who are in a "commonwealth supported place" ( goingtouni.gov.au )

there seems to be 3 types of payment according to your residency status:

1.apparently Australian citizen and humanitarian permanent visa holders are commonwealth supported place-holders which mean the govt. subsidizes tuition costs as well as being eligible for HECS-HELP wheras ...

2.people who are just permanent residents minus the humanitarian bit, or NZ citizen are also eligible for the commonwealth thing BUT not HECS-HELP.

3.Then there are people who are neither of those things (international students i assume) and but can apply for FEES-HELP.

Im a bit worried because I'm a permanent resident from japan, although ive been living here for most of my life and know more english than i know japanese, I kinda want to keep my japanese citizenship (because the japanese govt. doesnt recognise dual citizenship ) which means i will have to discard my Japanese citizenship if I go all aussie. that being said, I'll happily lose it if it means I can go to uni without being sucked totally dry.

A couple of years ago someone told me that permanent residents are eligible for hecs-help and i regret that i didnt look it up myself. any permanent residents/ NZ citizens out there?

I just dont get how much I will have to pay upfront and how much "the govt will subsidize" and if i would have to pay them back, which would be like hecs-help anyway.

hope Im making sense and sorry for the epic wall of text :(

Aquawhite

Retiring
HSC
Uni Grad
I'm not too sure on the specifics, but from what you said it looks like you'd be best just losing the Japanese Citizenship - it's not like you'll need it if you want to stay in Australia.

b0redAsian

HSC
how do you know if the uni/gov has accepted your offer for HECS help? do we get some notifcation sooner or later?

Spiderspins

HSC