2nd year in, not sure if ive done the right thing (1 Viewer)

meilz92

where are my hair
HSC
Uni Grad
About to enter my second year of B Com/B Sc at usyd. I'm majoring in industrial relations and human resource management and psychology. Doing the double degree mainly because i want to keep my options open. Commerce doesn't interest me, I'm more of a science person. HR management is the only major that leads to a slightly interesting job (imo). I chose commerce because I want a good paying job that wont be impossible to find. But now I'm wondering, are there even any jobs in HR management? Seek.com says there is thousands, but that means nothing if theres loads of HR professionals out there right? Am I going to have to work 45+ hours a week to make decent money (decent meaning >80k a year)?

I've always been REALLY interested in working in allied health (eg. as a psychologist, physiotherapist, dietitian) because i love medical/health sciences, but apparently the pay/vacancies are crap. However this a hell of a lot more interesting to me than commerce, and I'm sure the work hours wont be more than 40 a week- more suitable for when I decide to have kids and have a family right? How many years of uni would it have taken for this and what degrees? A girl i work with is finishing off her Masters in dietetics this year, and she says a lot of graduates don't find jobs for ages.

So confused, not sure if I'm doing the right thing. Someone give me guidance (other than "HR is crap, major in finance, live forever")

meilz92

where are my hair
HSC
Uni Grad
17 views and no replies? you guys suck

Jaundice

Banned
HSC
N/A
Look if science interests you more do science.

Heaps of people don't even do jobs related to their degree anyway.

I know a marine biologist by trade but to pay bills he is the head of KFC (i think it was marine biology).

Do you think you would do better in a science degree?

There are many jobs in allied health overseas too.