Hecs-help (1 Viewer)

Load Mistress

HSC
I'm posting this thread in hope to get some information and feedback on a few things that I'm confused about regarding HECS and all that.

I'm a permanent resident of Australia, and I have been for my 18 years of life. I just found out that PR's aren't eligible for HECS-HELP.
Last year I was going to do a citizenship test along with my brother but I wanted to focus on my HSC.
So the question I'm looking for an answer to is- if I become an Australian Citizen by the end of this year, will I be able to defer the rest of my uni fees to HECS-HELP? Obviously I'll have to pay for my first semester (maybe my second as well), but once I become an Australian Citizen, can I submit a new "Request for Commonwealth Support and HECS-HELP" form and get HECS?

If I knew PRs weren't eligible I would've done my citizenship ages ago. I remember when my brother went to uni he was eligible for HECS even though he was a PR... but that was a few years back.

Also, one more question, I'm a little confused as to the benefits of being a CSP if you are ineligible for HECS.

Thanks in advance! And sorry if the questions are n00bish.

funnytomato

HSC
I'm posting this thread in hope to get some information and feedback on a few things that I'm confused about regarding HECS and all that.
I'm a permanent resident of Australia, and I have been for my 18 years of life. I just found out that PR's aren't eligible for HECS-HELP.
Last year I was going to do a citizenship test along with my brother but I wanted to focus on my HSC.
So the question I'm looking for an answer to is- if I become an Australian Citizen by the end of this year, will I be able to defer the rest of my uni fees to HECS-HELP? Obviously I'll have to pay for my first semester (maybe my second as well), but once I become an Australian Citizen, can I submit a new "Request for Commonwealth Support and HECS-HELP" form and get HECS?