What do I do from here? feeling anxious. (1 Viewer)

changumangu

HSC
I feel like I've stuffed up big time.

I'm in my 3rd year of Commerce and Law at Macquarie University, a completely average student and I've failed a few units and have had a really inconsistent time at uni marks wise.

My last semester for example:
1 Distinction (75), 1 Pass (50), and one fail (48)

My GPA is 2.81/4.00 (WAM of 68), and I feel like I have lost all chance of being a top student and getting a good internship, or a grad role.

I do have a drive to do well, but I just cannot get myself to be consistent with my studies, or anything else in my life for that matter. This semester's exam period for example, I hadn't touched any of my units since week 3, and never for one unit.

It's not that I have a lot of commitments, it's that I just procrastinate that severely that it has the worst impact on my grades. I'm a smart guy, and I'm not trying to toot my own horn here at all. I had an outstanding ATAR, but even since I got to uni I've just been mucking around and really losing ground.

I have friends now with outstanding GPA's and great marks, having 3 grad roles lined up and looking for better options.

What do I do here now? I feel really scared and nervous about my prospects. What can I do to remedy this? Has anyone been in a similar situation before?

Thanks,
Changumangu

He-Mann

Vexed?
HSC
N/A
Negate your emotions before reading this post.

Not many think about this but the longer you stay at university, assuming same load per semester, the more resistant your WAM is going to be. Just have a look at the mean function and study the denominator. Around third year is when you probably see this in action.

Face it, you lost your drive. Something's going on. There was a magnificent post on this forum where the user claims that most procrastination is a result of "not wanting to study", rather they should be changing this mindset to "need to study"; a necessity.