I need practical advice for what I can do with my ATAR (1 Viewer)

thekid111

HSC
Hey everyone, I've posted this in another section but I don't think it will get much reception there. I graduated last year with an atar of 65. At the end of the day I can only blame myself, but during that time, the whole "studying" thing felt pretty worthless to me. unfortunately a few tragic events occurring outside of my school life during yr 12 effected me deeply causing me to lose diligence and care for the HSC.

I'm back in Sydney and have gained balance of my life, I feel. I want to enter a degree in Semester 2, specifically mechanical engineering. As I said, my ATAR is 65. The lowest cut-off I can find is studying at UWS (Parramatta campus) which requires 75.

I don't know much about uni prestige however the bottom line is i'm capable of working hard. What is the course of action I need to take to study this bachelors? If it's worth going the extra length to study at a better university with a higher cut-off i'll also be prepared to do so.

I have not finalised anything through the UAC yet.

I'm not quite sure how this whole thing works, so I was thinking of my 5 choices:

Select UWS Parrmatta campus for my first priority (75)
UWS Sydney campus for my second priority (78.25)
MQU 3rd priority (80) or UTS
Random low atar course and transfer?? (to usyd or unsw?)
Random low atar course and transfer?? (to usyd or unsw?)

again, idk. that's why I'm on here for advice

I also know internships are also very important for Engineering students. Does the uni you go to effect the chances of receiving an internship? If you hypothetically took two equally high performing students from high cutoff/low cutoff unis.

BTW I did Physics, Adv. Maths, legal studies, English & Modern History in yr 12.

Anyways, thanks all. Appreciate it

Last edited:

sida1049

HSC