Need Advice - UTS for Software Engineering? (1 Viewer)

wild_howl

HSC
Hey Guys,

I am in quite a difficult situation. So, I finished my bachelors in Civil Engineering from UNSW last year (Nov 2017). During industrial training in last year of study, I realized that I was not enjoying the work. So, I decided to change the stream and apply for a second bachelors degree in software engineering. I wanted to do software initially but due to some reason, I didn't enroll in the degree.

After studying for 4 years at UNSW I am saturated with it and tired of the everyday travel as well (especially Central to campus and back) . With the light rail construction, traveling is worse than before.

So I lodged the application with UTS as my first preference, UNSW as second followed by USYD.

Yesterday, I was looking for software engineering reviews at UTS on whirlpool forums and here on Reddit as well. I came across so many posts and comments indicating that education quality of UTS is poor and sub-par compared to UNSW. A lot of posts are old though and I don't know the current situation.

I know UNSW is one of the best universities in Australia, especially in computer science. I have received an offer from UTS (in this round) and I believe I would get one from UNSW and USYD as well in next rounds.

I have a few doubts in my mind:

1) Is it worth going to UTS for software engineering? especially if you can get into UNSW or USYD as well?

2) is UTS education really sub-par compared to UNSW or USYD?

3) does 'university' have an effect on job opportunities?

4) Also, what are your views on the diploma of professional practice? The 1 year internship thingy.

I really want to study at UTS this time as it is closer to home and part-time work. Also, because of I am saturated with UNSW. But all these posts are driving me crazy.