If you completed a B. Adv Science, what more do you need to do to be an Engineer (1 Viewer)

zheng1

HSC
Hi everyone

If I completed a bachelor of Advanced Science, what would I have to do to be registered as an engineer.

Do I have to do a bachelor of engineering or a master of engineering or a graduate certificate in engineering? I am very confused.

Thanks!

jazz519

HSC
Uni Grad
Wouldn't you just instead do a bachelor engineering instead of doing the advanced science if you wanted to be an engineer (cause I'm doing advanced science and have friends doing bachelor of engineering and the subjects are so different that I don't think you can just apply that other degree to what you do in the other degree). Pretty sure for masters you have to do the base degree first since its called postgrad

Last edited:

Drdusk

HSC
Uni Grad
Yeah exactly just do an engineering degree. Engineering is an application of science, the two are different

zheng1

HSC
Ok, thanks for the help. The only reason I considered advanced science is because it is more interesting for me and therefore more confident with my GPA. I am not to sure what I want to do after since there are not a lot of jobs for b. science graduates, but I am considering engineering as my backup option. My goal is to be a uni lecturer (phd), and then medicine might be an option - leaving it option for postgrad along with engineering.

So are you saying that I have to complete a bachelors degree?

zheng1

HSC
And since both of you are studying advanced science, what do you plan to do in the future?

jazz519

HSC
Uni Grad