China Exchange (1 Viewer)

Matty023

HSC
So is anyone else here going on exchange to China? Or has ever been?
And does anyone know any good resources to learn Mandarin, hopefully not too expensive.

Matty ^_^

Frigid

LLB (Hons)
HSC
N/A
i'm planning to go exchange at Hong Kong University in semester 1, 2008, but that's still some time away.

outside of university studies, TAFE runs three levels of Chinese. It's quite a difficult language to grasp by self-study.

phrred

HSC
Im thinking of deferring for a year or semester to go teach English in China so I can be exposed to the language coz im studying it atm. Its hard to learn when you're in Australia where you only speak it in the classroom and always use English writing

So-net

HSC
回覆: Re: China Exchange

Frigid said:
i'm planning to go exchange at Hong Kong University in semester 1, 2008, but that's still some time away.

outside of university studies, TAFE runs three levels of Chinese. It's quite a difficult language to grasp by self-study.
University of Hong Kong is a great university I've been there before :) :) ....Pure English teaching don't have to afraid of the language problem..If you wish to study language, they provide mandarin course as well.. but if you are doing business/commerce course I would suggest that Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) is a great choice as well ....( but heard from the student from there heaps of works to do)

Last edited:

dreamer7

HSC
I'm seriously considering spending a year in China when i complete my HSC. I'm learning Chinese atm and I want to become really fluent.

If I spend a year in China after the HSC, will my university admission be hindered or become better? (this is assuming I get a good UAI- will they say 'sorry, you did your HSC two years ago, the newer students get preference' ?)

Haku

i am going 1st semester 2008, possibly for a yr.