Weights in general, problem.. (1 Viewer)

Leffife

A lover is a best friend
HSC
N/A
Yesterday, I newly became a member of broadway gym. This is my first time to do weights, use the treadmill and use the bicycle machine . My concern though is when I used the barbell (I'm sure this is the correct name) I struggled to do even 1 up and down motion when it weighed 40kg + the bar, people even came to help me. However, when I used the dumbbell just before I tried the dumbbell, I was able to do 30kg, 35kg and even 40kg with each hand. The 40kg was not easy but certainly doable, i.e. I can sustain it. My question is what do you guys reckon my problem is with the barbell?

Any criticism is appreciated, tell me what I should do to improve. Thanks.

brent012

Webmaster
Webmaster
HSC
I'm guessing from how you say 40kg + bar that you aren't including the bar in that weight? A proper olympic bar weighs ~20kg, that's a lot of weight on top of the 40kg.

Leffife

A lover is a best friend
HSC
N/A
Yeah, the bar is separate with the 40kg - so roughly 60kg total. What really irritated me is how I found the dumbbell like doable without really a problem at all when it was bouncing around 30kg-35kg for each hand (the 40kg I gave to another person because he wanted it really soon, so I didn't do much), but when I used the barbell (where you kind of lie down), I literally almost hurt myself (couldn't move the weight back up) when I tried using a barbell which weights ~60kg.

Why did I experienced this?

brent012

Webmaster
Webmaster
HSC
This might sound like a stupid question, but are you sure you are working out the same muscle group? What lift are you even doing? Your form with dumbbells might be atrocious or you might be doing completely different lifts. You should focus on getting your form spot on before just piling on weight.

Capt Rifle

HSC