Thread: Working gap year

HSC

Working gap year

Hi all, please if you are a uni student read this, i will love you forever.

I am currently in my final year of high school and am thinking about applying for the schools recommendation scheme when it is open. I do however, want to take a year or possibly a bit longer working full time and being promoted to an inventory manager at my current work, woolworths. I have been told I have the skill, it is good money for a 18yo and I in the end want to actually go on to be a graduate at woolworths once I complete tertiary study. I would like to cash up a bit, maybe travel overseas for a couple of months at somepoint and having the experience of this role would have a positive effect on my longterm goal.

The only thing I am unsure about is if I receive an early offer or even a semester one offer to uni, can I put it off for a year? I have heard in some unis you can but you get charged a fee for being enrolled, which is fine by me. But how long can you do this for before they say, this guy isnt going to study. The thing about not taking an offer at my first opportunity is that for all I know, the next groups year 12 could be a better HSC group and may make my chance of getting in later on harder.

So if anyone can please answer my question, I would appreciate it. I am looking at MQ Business, UWScollege fasttrack to business managment or UTS business. Thanks everyone.

The pessimistic optimist. BLIT2014's Avatar
    HSC
    Uni Grad

Re: Working gap year

You can defer for a year once you receive your offers.
    I can barely see up and down and back again
    Despite what you believe I keep away from trouble
    If who I am today's a sign of where I'm going
    I'm ready to embrace

Got 1-2 minutes ? Please do my survey :P https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/8ZPYZSD

HSC

Quote Originally Posted by BLIT2014 View Post
    You can defer for a year once you receive your offers.