b. psych (honours) qn (1 Viewer)

breadcrumbs

HSC
hello!

i'm currently a yr12 student looking to apply for the bachelor of psychology (honours) at usyd. however, i'm not sure if ill be able to achieve the 96 atar needed for it.

what exactly is the difference between getting into the bachelor of psychology degree and the bachelor of psychology (honours) degree?
how will getting into the integrated honours degree benefit me in comparison only getting into the 3yr bachelors degree?
will i still need to achieve the marks required in uni if i happen to get into the integrated honours degree?

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
There are two differences between a Bachelor of Psychology and a Bachelor of Psychology (Honours), one being related to the education that you receive and the other being related to employment outcomes.

First, a Bachelor of Psychology (Honours) includes an Honours component that the Bachelor of Psychology does not. As you may already be aware, an Honours component is an additional year during which students undertake a research project targeting a relevant topic that they are interested in. At USyd, I believe that the length for an Honours thesis in psychology is 15000+ words (perhaps someone else could confirm this). Regardless of the word limit, an Honours year constitutes a great learning opportunity because not only would you be engaging in substantial learning about a particular topic, but you would also learn the basics of effective research.