What to expect yr11-12 eco (1 Viewer)

Scryne

HSC
In yr 10 going to 11 and wondering what to expect in economics. I kind of picked it as a “filler” subject since I didn’t know what else to pick and it sounded interesting. All I know is that there’s a lot of essay writing which I’m not very good at.

conjc

HSC
I found economics really enjoyable (still doing it in year 12). There are definitely some topics that feel dryer than others (I didn't enjoy unemployment or labour force as a whole of year 11) but some of the topics are really interesting.

You'll likely enjoy it if you like seeing how and why something happens and following the effect it has on Australia and individuals.

HazzRat

H̊ͯaͤz͠z̬̼iẻͩ̊͏̖͈̪
HSC
The big diff between eco and the other subjects is instead of adjusting an essay u already know, in eco u have to write a completely new essay on the spot. For eco study u can’t just study the concepts but u also need to have an example to attach to each idea.

I don’t think being bad at essay writing would be much of a hinderance anyway cuz the eco essay writing is so much more ‘straight-to-the-point’ than other subjects. Like for each para the markers literally just want a concept, an example and that’s it. English style waffling will actually lose u marks.

So if u just put the effort in to read the ABC finance column every now and again to get examples, as well as memorise theory it shouldn’t be too bad. It’s not a subject u can bluff ur way thru but not one that requires u to be a master of eloquence.

HSC
As someone who has done relatively well in Eco in Year 11 and HSC, senior Economics is one of the most enjoyable subjects.

For me it was the perfect balance of content (which rewards effort), intuition, and finding real life examples that are occurring right now.