ACST101 - Techniques and Elements of Finance (1 Viewer)

Lou283

HSC
So the course outline went up today for ACST101 and since I finished high school 4 years ago I have no idea what those formulas mean! I am going to give the numeracy centre a visit but I wondered what peoples experiences are with this unit? I am studying marketing so I just need to get through this unit.

Is it a difficult unit for those not maths savvy or is it a case of once you get what the formulas mean it becomes easier?

Monstar

HSC
Drill questions and do every piece of work hes given to you. Westcott may seem bitter but reality is, he tries his best to make everyone pass.. so as long as you

1. Do the tute questions
2. Do the online quizzes
3. Do your own revision

you'll definitely pass

Lou283

HSC
Drill questions and do every piece of work hes given to you. Westcott may seem bitter but reality is, he tries his best to make everyone pass.. so as long as you

1. Do the tute questions
2. Do the online quizzes
3. Do your own revision

you'll definitely pass
Thanks, look like I will just have to work my ass off then!

In peoples experience does it help to buy the books? This years books are:
Maths Of Finance (custom) 2e + Financial Institutions, Instruments & Markets (cust. Cutdown Version Westcott) 6e [pack]

But it doesn't say they are 'required' just 'recommended' - but they look like most of the books are not even in the unit - are they worth the $135?

I will buy them if they are going to help me pass, but won't bother if its just unnecessary extra reading.

Pwnage101

HSC
N/A
The textbook [in my opinion] is not needed because the lecture notes are excellent, and extra questions and more detailed lecture notes are available for all topics. I don't think you will have time to go through the textbook if you go through the rest of the material. That's for techniques.