ADSL plan help (1 Viewer)

Wohzazz

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2003
Messages
512
Location
Sydney
Gender
Male
HSC
2004
TPG Internet 1.5 Mb Value Unlimited $49.95 /mo 1500/256 20 GB Shaped

Exetel 512/BT $47.50 /mo 512/128 16 GB
(+No limit) $3 /GB
(N/A)
Exetel 512/BU $52.50 /mo 512/128 16 GB
(+No limit) $3 /GB

What is with the TPG plan. It provides 1.5mb plan for same price as the exetel 512kb (which is really good already). Can someone tell me why this is so because TPG looks good at the moment
 

superbird

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
774
Location
sydney
Gender
Male
HSC
2004
I think with TPG its compulsory to have a credit card and you will need to pay several months in advance.
Also you should look into the contracts (if any) associated with these plans. A 12 month contract may result in cheaper prices than a 6 month contract.
On a side note, TPG have recently received bad publicity for changing their plan conditions too much (see www.whirlpool.net.au)

EDIT: Check out this article http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1390
 

7th Sign

Active Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
2,366
Location
Sydney
Gender
Male
HSC
2005
do not sign up with tgp their crap and krupt on stupid family pc users sign up with them......go with exectel or internode
 

jm1234567890

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
6,519
Location
Stanford, CA
Gender
Male
HSC
2003
dunno....

i'm on exetel and not having any problems.

go to exetel/TPG forums and see what people say. Not many on exetel are planning to chun away.

and exetel has static IP so you can host a webserver, lol
here's mine http://220.233.22.14/

EDIT: please don't do a denail of service attack on it, using very basic firewall
 

neuro_logik

Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
581
Location
The Global Interweb
Gender
Male
HSC
2004
jm1234567890 said:
dunno....

i'm on exetel and not having any problems.

go to exetel/TPG forums and see what people say. Not many on exetel are planning to chun away.

and exetel has static IP so you can host a webserver, lol
here's mine http://220.233.22.14/

EDIT: please don't do a denail of service attack on it, using very basic firewall
You running Apache eh?
someone call for a DoS? lol jk.
 

jm1234567890

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
6,519
Location
Stanford, CA
Gender
Male
HSC
2003
Yeah, just making sure it was you....

i put that icon there, lol

i'll unblock you now, you on unwired?
 

neuro_logik

Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
581
Location
The Global Interweb
Gender
Male
HSC
2004
yeh im on unwired. Its a pretty good service, i get some rare dropouts for like a couple of minutes at around 3am (Who is up at that time anyway ;p ), other than that my 256/64k is pretty good even though i do not play games, download speeds range between 25-30kb/s pretty good for $64 a month (considering no line rental) and 10Gig cap (shaped down to 64k after). Better than my old ISDN connection :)

I've been looking at my firewall logs too, i keep getting these port scans from China which are directed at weird ports....hmmmm
 
Last edited:

Grizzly

euphoric
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
2,414
Location
there
Gender
Undisclosed
HSC
2003
/me waits for VDSL or ADSL2 that internode is currently upgrading/testing :D
 

jm1234567890

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
6,519
Location
Stanford, CA
Gender
Male
HSC
2003
Not really much point in waiting for ADSL2 unless you really need the faster speeds or the longer range (in which, you won't be able to get ADSL now anyway)
 

saladsurgery

kicking the cack
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
943
Location
over there
Gender
Male
HSC
2002
i'm with exetel atm. pretty reliable, cheap too.
the free downloads between midnight and 8 am are handy, queue up big stuff before you go to bed
 

Wohzazz

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2003
Messages
512
Location
Sydney
Gender
Male
HSC
2004
BTW what is with the "BT" and "BU" in the plan names for exetel in the first msg. They codes for something?
 

jm1234567890

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
6,519
Location
Stanford, CA
Gender
Male
HSC
2003
The T ones means you transfer your long distance telephone to exetel, U means you dont.

not much point not transfering, since the is an overide code to go back to telstra and use capping. and you get 15% off your phone bills.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top