Advanced math or Standard math with a bridging course later on? (1 Viewer)

AmalJ

HSC
I'm rethinking my choice of doing advanced math instead of standard for HSC. Currently, I'm at my class's average in 5.2 maths (which isn't really that good I won't lie) and I know that realistically I won't be able to achieve my atar goal if I continue on this path + will waste a lot of time I could spend on boosting my other subjects. I'm not good at math but I'm passionate about science and pursuing stem in uni.

Should I consider changing my subject selection to Standard and then take bridging courses at a later time? Perhaps even taking a gap year to solidify my math foundation (since it seems that's the root of my issues with math, I usually grasp the content really well when it's first introduced but as we explore it more & rely on previous topics we learned, I fall through.) Or should I be stubborn and push through? I believe I'd score better in standard despite scaling since I'm a "wordy" person and the part that's currently carrying my math grade is financial math although I'm hesitant about making the switch as advanced is a prerequisite for my uni options.

What are your opinions?

icycledough

HSC
Well, I'd say there are 2 benefits to doing Standard Maths instead of Advanced Maths.

1) Although the scaling isn't as favourable as Advanced, if you are more confident in doing Standard Maths if you can achieve a much better rank, then you should do so (as for internals, performance is all about ranks); also consider which one you will enjoy more out of the two

2) There are definitely bridging courses for Advanced Maths at university if it is a pre-requisite for your course. Consider some of the available bridging courses below for Advanced Maths:

UNSW --> https://www.science.unsw.edu.au/study-us/undergraduate/bridging-courses/mathematics-bridging-course

MQ --> https://www.mq.edu.au/faculty-of-science-and-engineering/study-with-us/bridging-courses