After The Bomb 2012 (1 Viewer)

Deep Blue

HSC
Hey all 2012's, who is doing after the bomb for their Ext 1 elective? Is anyone else worried about how they will go? The texts I am studying are:
-Hiroshima
-Waiting For Godot
-Catch 22
-The Spy Who Came In From The Cold

ali321

HSC
Uni Grad
We're doing Waiting for Godot, The Spy Who Came In From The Cold and Sylvia Plath I think. And yes, I am a bit worried. I did quite well in year 11 but this year sounds a lot more challenging with all the concepts you have to wrap your head around and also the creative section I am not looking forward to!

Last edited:

silentdreamer

HSC
we're doing Hiroshima, Waiting for Godot and The Spy Who Came In From The Cold as well. I'm a bit worried about the creative but not too concerned at the moment. having a bit of trouble looking for related texts though.

LoveHateSchool

Retired Sept '14
HSC
Uni Grad
Ohhh I'm doing that elective! I assumed I would be the only one!

The texts we are studying in depth are Spy Who Came in From the Cold, Sylvia Plath poetry and Waiting for Godot. We're also looking at some other supporting texts like Catch 22, Threads etc.

bigbirdbanana

HSC
Hey guys, I'm a 2011 After the Bomb-er so I just thought I'd share my related texts. I used the film The Manchurian Candidate (the original) as well as JFK's Inaugural Address (as a point of juxtaposition). The first one clearly deals with the concerns of the period, with a strong sense of the paranoia etc. The second has obvious political slants and does not reflect the subversive nature of many AtB texts, but it does discuss similar issues and can be juxtaposed with the other texts to demonstrate how there were a variety of perspectives at the time.

Just thought I'd share :)

ali321

HSC
Uni Grad