All local students, Attention!! (1 Viewer)

hj1985

HSC
Hi, I'm an international student who has graduated from USYD last year. I just wanna do a quick survey about how local students think of those overseas students in the campus(we are gettting more and more overseas students nowadays!!). Just feel free to express your opinions.:karate:

Nebuchanezzar

Banned
HSC
I have my standard cliched opinion on this matter. I've been in a class with noticable international students only once, and the fact that they held up tutorial discussion in what was otherwise a bloody fantastic tutorial annoyed me somewhat. Other than that, they've been pretty invisible to me.

goony

i am here to ride bike
HSC
As long as they can speak english properly (or i have a translator handy), they're alright...i've had good and bad experiences

Martyno1

oh hi
HSC
Haven't started uni yet, but I'd love to make some friends with int'l students!

Shaking Paper

HSC
In my experience, North American ones seem to fit right in. East asian students seem to be classroom filler, having little impact because they tend only speak to people from their country (but have caused problems for me in group tasks).

Last edited:

decypher

HSC
Shaking Paper said:
In my experience, North American ones seem to fit right in. South-East asian students seem to be classroom filler, having little impact because they tend only speak to people from their country (but have caused problems for me in group tasks).

hj1985

HSC
You might find that in group tasks, international students (from Asia) won't help much? Am I right?

Wooz

^wooz*y^
HSC
Yes, more and more asian fobs who aren't accustomed to our culture or respectfulness.
Alot of them just won't shut up in the library, i sat in special reserve in Usyd on wed and whole groups as asians wouldn't be quiet even though you aren't supposed to chat unless your in the quiet discussion rooms.