AMA - I’m a lawyer working in a commercial law firm (1 Viewer)

RivalryofTroll

Sleep Deprived Entity
HSC
Uni Grad
Hi All

Congratulations to the HSC Class of 2022 on finishing your exams!

Some of you may be interested in pursuing a law degree at university and perhaps even becoming a lawyer one day. Want to hear it straight from the horse’s mouth about what that might look like?

By way of background, I’m a junior lawyer currently working in a large commercial law firm. My area of practice is dispute resolution/litigation.

AMA.

- RivalryofTroll

Nezuko----

HSC
Hi!! I actually have a few questions (sorry!)
1) Is there any job opportunities for the first year or is that more second year+?
2) Are there things I should do to stand out for internships and clerkships?
3) Tips for first year law? workload tips and such?
Thanks!

idkkdi

HSC
1) Is there any job opportunities for the first year or is that more second year+?
Thanks!
curious why u took eng standard if ur going to do law lol

Nezuko----

HSC
curious why u took eng standard if ur going to do law lol
yeah, lol, year 11 me underestimated my potential (sounds egotistical), plus side i got early entry into law for uts, unsw and usyd so... lol

RivalryofTroll

Sleep Deprived Entity
HSC
Uni Grad
Thanks!
No problem. I will provide some high-level answers first and, if you need more specific detail, please feel free to ask further questions.

1. Job opportunities - Generally, I would say there are fewer legal job opportunities in your early years of law school. Assuming, for example, you are doing a combined law degree of five years, legal job opportunities tend to pop up in your second/third/fourth years. However, it doesn't hurt to start researching opportunities (whether it's paralegal jobs, volunteering opportunities at community legal centres, etc) from the get-go.