Beginners French at Open HS - everything you need to know (1 Viewer)

mads21

HSC
Beginners French at Open HS - everything you need to know?

My name is Madison and one of my subjects I choose for yr 11 is Open High School Beginners french. I did french for all of year 8, but couldn't get a class in 9/10 and was wondering what open high school is all about, what do you do, what type of assessments do you have to do etc. Also would it be easy to pick up as I have some experience or is it still difficult? and what do you think about OHS.

Last edited:

esu_chan

HSC
Re: Beginners French at Open HS - everything you need to know?

Salut Madison, I'm currently doing Year 11 Continuers French.

I did Years 9 and 10 French, but in Year 9 I was of a much higher level than the rest of the kids in my class and in Year 10 I shared with a class full of Year 9s, which didn't get me much speaking experience.

Anyways, on the subject of OHS, it's pretty simple. You get assigned a teacher, who you will contact as often as necessary. You will be sent a book of work, which generally consists of 4 weeks of work. Each week, you go through the work, and send in the exercises marked with an icon that reads "Envoyez SVP" to your teacher. These will also be sent with a cover page. I don't know about Beginners, but for Continuers, you need to do 25 cover pages and 6 books. Each book comes with a CD containing listening exercises.

Upon recieving your work, you will be expected to ring your teacher and discuss a time to have phone lessons. You will recieve a book of questions in your first ever package, which your teacher will ask you each week. If possible your teacher (like mine) will ask you to call once a fortnight.