Combine law or masters degree? (1 Viewer)

HSC
Hey guys

Im currently studying Int Studies at MQ and just about to finnish my first year. I know its a bit early to consider these options but I was wondering what others might think. I hope to obtain a career with the government in diplomacy, mainly based on defence policy or something of that sort. Thus, should i combine law to my international degree (5 years not including this one) or should i undertake a masters degree, most likely Masters of International security (which would be 4 years including my undergrad degree). I could do both law and my masters but i just think that is way too long. what do you guys think

GPA: 3.2

X

xeuyrawp

Hey guys

Im currently studying Int Studies at MQ and just about to finnish my first year. I know its a bit early to consider these options but I was wondering what others might think. I hope to obtain a career with the government in diplomacy, mainly based on defence policy or something of that sort. Thus, should i combine law to my international degree (5 years not including this one) or should i undertake a masters degree, most likely Masters of International security (which would be 4 years including my undergrad degree). I could do both law and my masters but i just think that is way too long. what do you guys think

GPA: 3.2
Hey man,

If you're remotely interested in doing law, I would vehemently suggest not combining it at Macquarie, but doing it as graduate law at either UNSW or USyd.

As for your international studies ideas, remember that a lot of people want to get into diplomacy, defence, etc, without really knowing much about it. As you said, you've got a lot of time to decide, but definitely inform yourself as much as possible with trying to get work experience in your area of interest.

You're looking to get into a competitive field, so try to get your GPA higher, get as much experience as possible, and try to add value to yourself. Which language are you doing?