Double degree advice. (1 Viewer)

mitchy_boy

blue
HSC
Sup d00dz, and d00detz, I'm doing Commerce, and I'm majoring in Actuarial studies. I wonna do a double degree with it, but not sure what I should pick up as the second degree...

I have it down to;

Science, and do a major in maths or stats.

Computer science.

Economics, and do Financial economics, and/or econometrics.

I want to do them all equally, so if you have an opinion on any of the degrees, plz share it :)

Or just ignore me/post useless shit :)

muzeikchun852

HSC
maths would be a complementary subject for actuarial.

gurmies

Drover
HSC
The ones that'll provide most leverage in terms of job offers are science/computer science. Have you considered advanced maths?

mitchy_boy

blue
HSC
That's what I was thinking, especially as I was looking at a lot of jobs, for actuaries, and quant finance jobs, and lots requested knowledge of databases, which would fall under computer science.

I'm not sure if I have the marks to transfer to advanced maths (atar 92, first semester wam 72), but i've considered it. Not sure if I want to do the whole honours year thing.

deterministic

HSC
A common misconception is that maths complements actuarial studies. In reality, actuarial studies is more like statistics than like maths. So if you were going to do a major purely to complement actuarial studies, then do a stats major if you want to complement actuarial. If you want to learn more about maths, then do a maths major. Don't get suckered into doing advanced maths if you aren't keen on honours, as it is nearly the same as a normal science degree with an extra honours year.