First day on a software engineering job -- what to expect? (1 Viewer)

xetamine

HSC
I'm new to the workforce and have never had a job before. My first job is at a small, relaxed software engineering firm.

What should I expect? Any tips? I've got the dress code, lunch, and commute worked out... but what should I expect once I get there?

Last edited:

JavaScript

HSC
I am really interested in how it goes. I want to be a software engineer as well. What language are you expected to code in? Also which uni did you graduate fro.

xetamine

HSC
I am really interested in how it goes. I want to be a software engineer as well. What language are you expected to code in? Also which uni did you graduate fro.
I'll let you know! Very nervous though.

It's an app development / consulting firm. I'm coding in Swift and Objective C. I haven't gone to uni yet; I'm doing the HSC as we speak.

I'm hired after two interviews; not work experience. I have a few apps on the App Store including one that got featured by Apple, and they said they were impressed with my apps.

astroman

HSC
I'll let you know! Very nervous though.

It's an app development / consulting firm. I'm coding in Swift and Objective C. I haven't gone to uni yet; I'm doing the HSC as we speak.

I'm hired after two interviews; not work experience. I have a few apps on the App Store including one that got featured by Apple, and they said they were impressed with my apps.
whats apps are they?? :D

JavaScript

HSC
This shows that comp sci/tech industry is a great field. Keep it up man you must be great at making apps.

I really need to get into app dev but I hate apple. Lol

JavaScript

HSC
BTW how many jobs did you apply to? Also would you recommend just building a portfolio like you and applying for entry level jobs like you did?

keepLooking

HSC
This shows that comp sci/tech industry is a great field. Keep it up man you must be great at making apps.

I really need to get into app dev but I hate apple. Lol