I need some help to choose a piece. (1 Viewer)

Lexi

HSC
N/A
Hey, I'm a level 5/6 pianist ... Well, actually I don't do levels, but I'm playing pretty hard stuff, and I need to choose a piece for the topic An Instrument and Its Repetoire(sp?). My piano teacher suggested that I do a classical piece, and I was wondering if there were any nice one's for piano. Note - can't be in a movie ... Bit of a cow I know. Help would be much appreciated!

the sax man

Hmmmm......
I'm not a pianist, but why not check out some Debussy? Clair de Lune or the Sunken Cathedral.

5c

HSC
ummm...
wats the era for ur topic? any... ?
well..
a movt of one of beethovens' sonatas.. when is due? soon.. cuz it mite be a bit too long.. there are nice ones in the pianoforte series 14 book ..

Lexi

HSC
N/A
Thankyou so much, I'm thinking of playing Debussy's Clair de Lune, but I don't have to perform it until the Trials ... So any other suggestions ... I need a piece for 20th and 21st Century more than anything.

Crikket

Exactly Member
HSC
For 20th and 21st century, why don't you do a pop song?
some really old stuff is great for solo piano
like my friend who's doing 7th grade piano, she's doing "the Stranger" by Billy Joel for her hsc

or you can check out what songs the AMEB prescribes for piano for leisure exams, and play stuff like that.
for example, some of the 7th grade pieces were
Proud Mary - john fogerty,
In Your Eyes - Masser
Prelude - Bach
adagio sostenuto - beethoven
three to get ready - brubeck
moonlight - debussy
misty - garner
your song - elton john
consolation no.5 - liszt
maple leaf rag - joplin
alla turca - mozart
forcing the pace - norton

good luck!

ccgs_jono