JD Offer from Melbourne and UNSW (1 Viewer)

TinaElle

HSC
N/A
Got JD offer from both Melbourne and UNSW: ;)

Melbourne - Full fee
UNSW - CSP

Which one should I choose?? I'd love to go to Melbourne because of its reputation. However the CSP offer from UNSW is also very attractive too...

My question is - would getting a Melbourne JD (full fee) really worth it?
I am interested in International Law. In terms of career perspective - Would my chance of getting into top (international) law firms much higher if I graduate from Melbourne JD than UNSW JD (say if I graduated with the same GPA)??

Thanks!!

Frigid

LLB (Hons)
HSC
N/A
Which one should I choose?? I'd love to go to Melbourne because of its reputation. However the CSP offer from UNSW is also very attractive too...

My question is - would getting a Melbourne JD (full fee) really worth it?
I am interested in International Law. In terms of career perspective - Would my chance of getting into top (international) law firms much higher if I graduate from Melbourne JD than UNSW JD (say if I graduated with the same GPA)??

-----
DISCLOSURE: I graduated from UNSW LLB this year, having finished the program last year. In my time I was quite involved in the UNSW law school, but never as a student representative or on a faculty level. Therefore, the above views are my own and, unless specifically cited, do not represent the views of Melbourne or UNSW Law Schools.

Bertrand

HSC
N/A
Hi Tina,

I was sort of in a similar situation. I didn't apply to NSW unis because I couldn't bring myself to live in Sydney, but I did apply to Melbourne and others. I thought it through before the offers / rejections came through and decided I would pay for Melbourne if it came to that. In the end, I got CSP at Melbourne, so it's moot now.