Law students: do you think about quitting law? (1 Viewer)

Atlas

HSC
N/A
Just wondering, do you think about quitting law? What ultimately makes you not quit law and keep at it? What happens if you actually quit - will it become some haunting shadow?

maka

HSC
I think most people within the course have some doubts about law, especially after a poor result or two. I have never seriously considered quitting law but in the first year (ie Juris), I took a few poor marks to heart. In the end, I realised that one or two bad marks arent the end of the world and that it was just some teething problems in transitioning to uni standards. Since, then I have been sweet.

If I quit law, I would fall back on my Business degree.

tha-ish

HSC
For me personally, I remain in law because I know I want to practice law for a living. However, that may not apply to you. If you are doing a double degree, you may as well stick with it because you will pick up another degree (which hopefully interests you) anyway.

In terms of the haunting shadow - best answer can be found in 'pinstripe prison' by lisa pryor (book) - the short answer is, there may be a shadow, but it's not worth worrying about.

Hope that helps, and read the book, I think you'll find some answers, or at least get someone's perspective who has gone through a law degree, gotten a job and realised it wasn't for her.

Good luck!

iwannarock

HSC
i never think about quitting.

but if i failed a core subject or something........i probably wouldnt have come back.

instead i think about why i ever did the degree in the first place.

its comforting to know that there will be lots of other people like me that get a law degree and never actually go in to practice.

Tabris

HSC
Never quit! perserverence and hard work will get you through!

btw Iwannarock, its your last semester!! finished with your take homes?

iwannarock

HSC

btw Iwannarock, its your last semester!! finished with your take homes?
last semester ever!