Medicine at UNSW or Newcastle JMP (1 Viewer)

hirola

HSC
Hi,

I'm a student at UNSW and I'm thinking of applying to transfer to Medicine. I've asked both UNSW and Newcastle about the process and what's required so I know I will need to do UMAT and apply through UAC for both of them. I have more chance of getting in the Newcastle one but the UNSW one seems to be one of the popular ones so I'm thinking maybe the learning structure or something about the UNSW one puts it at an advantage compared to Newcastle.

I just wanted to know what people think of each university for the Medicine program because I'm still debating about which one I should apply for.

Thank you

iStudent

HSC
Apply to both?

Then choose the one that accepts you. Most people are lucky to get 1 med offer, let alone have a choice between universities.

But in case you're wondering, they're like the same but Newcastle has a shorter course whereas UNSW has a research year (and also probably closer to home)

StudiousStudent

HSC
Being a novocastrian myself, I'd recommend Newcastle.

I know a few people that have undertaken medicine at UoN. I know plenty of people who have graduated with nursing, OT, radiography and midwifery degrees. All of the UoN graduates (health field), have secured jobs before graduation or soon after.

90% at John Hunter Hospital.

The John Hunter Hospital (sometimes known as the JHH or more colloquially The John Hunter) is the principal referral centre and a community hospital for Newcastle, Lake Macquarie and Northern New South Wales, Australia. It is the main teaching hospital of the University of Newcastle. The hospital contains the only trauma centre in New South Wales outside the Sydney Metropolitan Area, and has the busiest emergency department in the state.[2]

They're always hiring. And they're expanding right now, so more jobs will be created.

I'm admittedly biased (I was born there!)

RishBonjour99

HSC
N/A