Not sure if I can do this (1 Viewer)

witide

HSC
If I'm doing a degree in Software Engineering, am I able to study a stream from another faculty and add an extra year onto my study? Say for example I wanted to do Modern Greek, could I just enrol into those subjects and study them along with my current program, even if they don't count for anything?

Rafy

Retired
HSC
Uni Grad
All units of study you do have to contribute to a degree. If you do units in surplus to the requirements of the degree, they are classed as Non-Award, and you will have to pay full-fee for them.

RogueAcademic

HSC
N/A
Can you do these diplomas concurrently with your degree or is it something completely different? For example at USyd:

Undergraduate Diploma Admission
An applicant must either:

a. have a UAI or equivalent (determined by the Faculty) of at least 80.00 and must be enrolled in a degree other than the BA at the University of Sydney, or any degree at another University, or

b. be a graduate of the University of Sydney (or equivalent).​

For eg, at UMelb, you can concurrently enrol in a Diploma of Languages (learn a language while you're doing your other main degree) or Diploma in Music (develop your music instrument skills or musicology knowledge). So when you graduate, you graduate with both your main degree and the diploma.

Last edited:

witide

HSC
All units of study you do have to contribute to a degree. If you do units in surplus to the requirements of the degree, they are classed as Non-Award, and you will have to pay full-fee for them.
Can they still be put on HECS?

In any case, that Diploma of Languages seems like it might be a good idea.

I'm currently enrolled at UNSW where I'm able to minor in Greek, however I'm having second thoughts about my degree and quite a few timetable clashes. I'm waiting for a late round offer from USyd now.

Rafy

Retired
HSC
Uni Grad
No, non-award students are not eligible for FEE-HELP.

witide

HSC