should i keep working in year 11/12? (1 Viewer)

dinofirework

HSC
i'm currently a private tutor for students in grades below me, but now in year 11 i'm wondering how much time i'll have to tutor, as i want to focus on studying. how many hours a week should i still work? and should i keep working in year 12 as well? do you know of anyone who worked in year 11 and 12 and still got very good (99+) ATARS? i'm aiming for above 99.5 at the moment, as i would like to study medicine in uni.

FesuY

HSC
Are you getting paid? If so keep it, if not quit it.

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
I suggest addressing this concern by treating year 11 and year 12 separately. As you are likely aware, no assessment tasks/exams in year 11 count towards your HSC results or ATAR. Because of this, you may choose to keep tutoring in year 11. If you feel that despite the fact that none of your year 11 assessment tasks/exams will count towards your year 12 results or ATAR, you want to take year 11 seriously and perform favourably in your second last year of school, a good approach would be to establish a balance between the time allocations with respect to your tutoring services and your year 11 studies. You may wish to keep tutoring for the same number of hours per week as you commence year 11. Subsequently, depending on the workload in addition to your study goals relevant to year 11, you could either increase, decrease, or make no changes to the number of hours that you tutor each week.