the powerline question (1 Viewer)

Steven12

Lord Chubbington
HSC
what was the top powerline and the ceramic thing for?

i rememeberd i studied it before, think i said something about the powerline provideds protection from lightning and ceramics discs protects them from rain.

what did u guys write?

hfis

Dyslexic Fish
HSC
N/A
I said that the top line was a lightning discharge wire, like a lightning rod. The ceramic thing was an insulator to prevent rain shorting the powerlines against the metal frame.

At least I hope so, anyway.

acmilan

I'll stab ya
HSC
N/A
I put part A were shield conductors that protect transmission lines from lightening strike and ground it

part B were chain insulators that insulate the supporting structures from the transmission wires

gordo

Resident Jew
HSC
yep...
a was a lightening discharge (earth) wire
b were cermaic disks to prevent leakage from the wires into the towers and they are dome shaped so rain flows off them to prevent them getting even slighty conductive

Jezzabelle

gordo said:
yep...
a was a lightening discharge (earth) wire
b were cermaic disks to prevent leakage from the wires into the towers and they are dome shaped so rain flows off them to prevent them getting even slighty conductive
why did i not know that at all?!! I never ever remember learning that :( darn there go 2 marks

BillyMak

Silent majority
HSC
I read over that about 5 minutes before the exam...
(A) was a continual earth line. It doesn't carry current, usually, but in the event of a lightning strike it carries all excess electricity to the earth.
(B) was an insulator, and the shape is a series of discs, or bells, to keep the underside dry. If it isn't dry, dust that accumulates on the insulator can mix with water to form a conducting solution.

Gomer

HSC
LMAO!

We didn't study this all year, or well at least i didn't. I had no idea.