Tips and advice for revising for english advanced (HSC Level) (1 Viewer)

Dane Red

HSC
I always saw english advanced as a weird subject to revise for as i'm not always sure or certain where to start my revision off with like do i first break down the text i'm studying before doing practice exams or do i do prac exams and studying the text at the same pace?

Jos:)

HSC
Assuming you have learnt the text, then revision would mean not learning the text? I think to revise, you should make practice paragraphs for each theme, idea, character, etc (what ever is best for your texts). develop a mastery of the base level techniques, and begin to work your way up into more sophisticated examples to allow for a better conceptual understanding of the textual form/purpose.

MJRey

HSC
Top 5 tips from a Band 6 student in English Advanced...

FOR ESSAYS
1. Read your texts.
2. Pick out effective techniques/quotes you can use in any essay context (relevant to the module and what is expected of course).
3. Memorise those quotes.
4. Start writing practice essays (don't churn out too many at once... really take the time to think about your ideas first, then as you improve your writing style and/or receive appropriate feedback on your work, start doing essays under a time limit)
5. Create practice essay plans and get good at doing this in about 2-3 minutes (it's impossible to write practice essays for every single question in a past paper, so you can compensate for this by creating essay plans instead) --> do this for questions you understand relatively well, but write the essay if it's a question you're stuck on

The above advice can also be applied to creatives etc, but for short answer, do numerous past papers so you can get better at dealing with unseen questions. Underline key quotes that will support your paragraphs, and remember to create a strong thesis about human experiences!

chaevely_park

HSC
As a 96/100 English Adv scorer, I would also like to add:
For essays: