UTS or USYD for B/Science(statistics) (1 Viewer)

6 feet 4

HSC
I'm a UTS engineering student looking to transfer to B/Science majoring in statistics. I have an idea of the quality of education at UTS, but need some insight on USYD. I's transport quick? Is the work difficult? how many days a week do you typically go to uni? is the quality of teaching and education good?

I'd prefer input from students in a relevant field for the education-side of things.

Thanks in advance~

sida1049

HSC
I am majoring in statistics under the advanced stream (here, we have mainstream/normal and advanced streams).

Transport is pretty convenient, since it's roughly a 12-minute walk from Redfern Station to statistics/mathematics classes.

It's very normal to have a 5-day timetable (I've never had anything less, though it's perfectly possible, depending on your units). That said, lectures aren't compulsory (along with some tutorials), and several of my friends skip days with one or two lectures and watch them online.

The quality of education is very good, and at least on-par with the other unis. But there is a lot of variation, due to the fact that different lecturers do things differently. My current advanced stats lecturer is very hands-on and an all-round intense guy (he records marks for our weekly tutorial worksheet), whereas the normal stream equivalent course has a lecturer that is less intense. But in the end, it's just like any other uni: from time to time, you may end up with a boring, ineffectual lecturer, or get lucky and study under a highly competent one.