2nd person narration (1 Viewer)

Emph

HSC
In some crazed frame of mind I promised my teacher as well as myself that I will incorporate some 2nd person narration into my short story.

Although this sounds like a fantastic idea, I can't seem to start. I have never tried 2nd person before and in truth I dont know how. I just can't write it. It is actually very intimidating.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to help me I would truly appreciate it.

Tulipa

Loose lips sink ships
to the left, a little below the right and right in
HSC
hmm how long is the narration going to be?

2nd person is slightly tricky, you have to remember not to hit the reader over the head with what you're trying to say. also it works better with an ambiguous paragraph, something that you're trying to make the reader empathise with perhaps? so don't overuse "you".

HSC
N/A
Eeek. 2nd person can be finicky to play with.

It works best in "Choose Your Own Adventure" type situations, or short interludes. Anything more is overkill because the "you, you, you" think can't be sustained for very long without driving both reader AND writer insane.

However you can reduce the "you, you, you" monotony by adding in descriptions of landscape etc (eg spacefillers).

Emph

HSC
Tulipa said:
hmm how long is the narration going to be?
It is only going to be used in short intervals. The style of my work is such that I use a variety or perspective and mediums to tell the story. It sounds a bit unusual but it actually works.

glitterfairy said:
2nd person can be finicky to play with.
tell me about it!!!

passion89

HSC
Emph said:
It is only going to be used in short intervals. The style of my work is such that I use a variety or perspective and mediums to tell the story. It sounds a bit unusual but it actually works.

That sounds like a really good idea :) Be sure to keep us up to date with it. My friend's doing something very similar

ur_inner_child

.%$^!@&^#(*!?.%$^?!.
HSC