access to a law library and can you help me please? (1 Viewer)

rachyroo

HSC
I don't have access to a law library and I am rusty in research methods.
HAPPY TO PAY YOU. I have a legal problem...(I am a mum of student on this site)

The problem:
I recently sold my house after 18 years due to financial issues.
1. I had renovated it since purchase in 2001 but had not obtained a completion cert and there was a special clause in the contract that any problems arising out of this would not affect the sale.
2. purchaser bought with no cooling off period
3. after purchase , purchaser did a survey and said I had an encroachment so the original contract was invalid.
4. I told them to go jump and I would refund their money and they could get out of the contract (as a distressed sale they bought it well under market)
5. they refused and instead wanted $50,000 compensation.(because the neighbor has sent a letter from their solicitor saying they will sue for this amount because of the encroachment of my dividing wall onto the neighbours property - they have not spoken to me about it!)
6. we finally agreed to put the $50,000 into a trust account and the recipient would be determined by arbitration...

so I want to prepare for the arbitration.
the relevant facts are:

1. my sold property is a semi , torrens title, NSW (ie there is a common wall with an adjoining property)
2. I renovated by adding an extra storey (it is one level on the other side)
3. the common wall is double brick and instead of having a brick veneer wall (one brick and then cladding on my side) the builder put bricks on top of existing such there is a double brick dividing wall.
(this is a bonus because if the other side wishes to also go up, the wall is already in place. it is also better for noise minimization, fire retardation and so on.)