Choosing Electives - your structure (1 Viewer)

builder2818

HSC
Hi

I am keen to hear how some people are structuring their degree in terms of picking electives to compliment the required units of study.

I am enrolled in a b.comm majoring in finance and I am finding it a little hard and confusing to structure a timetable. I am a part time student studying at night so some subjects are automatically excluded from my proposed program. I know it's early days as I have just enrolled but I would like to get a structure in place going forward.

A couple of questions I have:

1. Does it matter at what stage of your degree you take level 100,200,300 units? (assuming you meet all prerequisites)

2. Is it better to study subjects that have a prerequisite closer to each other? e.g would it make much of a difference if I studied accounting 1b 4-5 years after studying accounting 1a?

Fisiks

HSC
1. No, just as long as you have met the prerequisites you can study 200 / 300 level whenever you want. I've been given advice to save easy 100 level units that i don't require for prerequisites for later in my study to 'compliment' harder 300 level units.
2. I am wondering the same thing.

builder2818

HSC
What are you majoring in? Do you find that you will be taking units that aren't directly related to your major?

Fisiks

HSC
Finance.

You have to do a people and a planet unit, my choices for them don't relate to my major.

You can choose electives that don't relate to your degree to make up credit points if you wish, but it really depends on personal preference and what degree you're in.

builder2818

HSC