CSU Vs. UTS (1 Viewer)

White Rabbit

Bloody Shitcakes
HSC
I'm currently in a bit of a dilemma.

I'm studying Nursing at CSU Bathurst and absolultley love it. It offers the subjects I want, with an emphasis on rural health and allows me to elect my own pracs after Sem2 Year 2, which is very important to me. I know I want to work at Dubbo Base once I graduate and the disrict hospitals attached to the Maquarie Area Health Serivce, however I want to try Remote Area up near Fitzroy Crossing too, another option CSU offers in Pracs. The social life is great, I can play rugby through the Uni (which other Uni's don't seem to offer apart from Womens Rugby in Uni Games) and I'm generally enjoying myself.

My only problem is money - it's becoming more and more obvious I can not really afford to live on my own and I can't find a job. If I were to return to Sydney, I could find a job, and would have a roof over my head a food. But I'd loose the above.

So, how does UTS compare to CSU in regards to their social life? The emphasis on Rural Health? Whats Kuring-Gai like compared to City? I'd prefer City as it's alot easier to get to coming from St George.

Thanks!

braindrainedAsh

Journalist
HSC
I don't study nursing. But I can tell you that the social life at UTS would be less than at CSU Bathurst, esp since you are living on campus. We have sporting teams etc, but there isn't the same community atmmosphere that I assume there is at CSU Bathurst. Plus because it is the city, there is so much to do that campus life isn't people's main form of entertainment.

Have you tried applying for any scholarships? Youth Allowance? Those kinds of things might help. Do you have any experience in hospitality or anything? Maybe you could pick up work in Sydney during your holidays for a casual hospitality agency or something.... apply for positions as Christmas casuals now for over summer break.

White Rabbit

Bloody Shitcakes
HSC