Disadvantaged pathways to Medicine degrees (1 Viewer)

HSC
Hey there,
I'm Marty, I'm a journalist at the ABC who's researching the positives and negatives of the university admissions system for future med students.
In particular, how it benefits or misses the mark when it comes to giving students from low socio-economic areas (low SES) a better shot at entry into a degree.

Some issues I've heard raised by other students are:

- "the way 'disadvantage' is measured isn't fair."
For instance, someone from from a low SES area, might be wealthy, but still benefit. Or someone may list their rural address as their home, but it's actually their parents holiday house and they rarely stay there. Have you ever heard about this or encountered that?

- "the ATAR and UCAT minimums aren't lowered enough"
If you or your parent's can't afford tutoring and you work part-time to support your family, you'll have less time and ability to score as highly.
Do you or someone you know miss out on entry to medicine because a few decimal points?

- "After year 12, your 'disadvantage' counts for nothing"
The barriers to entry after HSC if you miss out the first time can be very difficult. Not everyone has the ability to travel interstate and do a Medicine degree with a lower ATAR entry. Have you tried heaps of times and not got into the med degree you want to do?

I'm interested to hear from students who:
- relate to the statements above and would like to tell me their own experience.
- are doing their HSC and have been identified as being eligible for an equity pathway or access scheme.
- have been chosen for an equity pathway in the past and can tell me what it was like once the degree commenced.
- have an aspiration of being a doctor in a low SES area but have had difficulty gaining entry to a medicine degree

If this is you, shoot me an email: marty.smiley@abc.net.au - or reply below if you want to discuss the topic further anonymously.